Skip to main content

MI Water, MI Future was a series of townhall events discussing pressing issues and topics regarding protecting our michigan watered resources, learning the background and history, where we currently stand, what the future holds, and how you can take action.

Each town hall moderated by Clean Water Action Michigan Legislative and Policy Director Sean McBrearty includes special guest panelists including legislators, experts, and activists along with question and answer sessions from the audience.

Watch video recordings of previous townhalls below, and RSVP to join us for future events.


Be a Clean Water Voter: Voting Rights in the time of COVID: July 30th, 2020. Townhall Video Link.

Zaineb Hussein, Deputy Chief of Staff, Michigan Secretary of State

Chris Swope, Lansing City Clerk


Water Infrastructure: Creating Jobs for a Blue Economy: July 16th, 2020. Townhall Video Link.

Representative Sarah Anthony, Michigan State House District 68

Nayyirah Shariff, Flint Rising Executive Director

Elaine Sterrett Isely, West Michigan Environmental Action Council Director of Water Programs

Mary Brady-Enerson, Michigan Director, Clean Water Action & Clean Water Fund


Climate Change is Water Change: June 25th, 2020. Townhall Video Link

Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib, Michigan's 13th Congressional District

Michelle Deatrick, National Chair DNC Climate Council 

Bryan Newland, Bay Mills Indian Community Chairman 


Water is a Public Resource: Expanding Public Trust: June 11th, 2020.  Townhall Video Link

Representative Rachel Hood, Michigan State House District 76

Dave Dempsey, For The Love Of Water (FLOW) Senior Advisor

Skip Pruss, Former Director of the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor, and Economic Growth


Water Justice: Water Access and Affordability in Michigan: May 28th, 2020. Townhall Video Link - Transcript & Chat

Congressman Dan Kildee, Michigan's 5th Congressional District

Senator Stephanie Chang, Michigan State Senate District 1

Sylvia Orduño, People's Water Board Coalition Advocate & Community Organizer


No Stricter Than Federal (and How Strict Is Federal?): May 14th, 2020. Townhall Video Link

Representative Laurie Pohutsky, Michigan State House District 19

Representative Jon Hoadley, Michigan State House District 60

Lynn Thorp, Clean Water Action National Campaigns Director


Protecting Our Water and Making Polluters Pay: April 30th, 2020. Townhall Video Link

Senator Jeff Irwin, Michigan State Senate District 18

Representative Yousef Rabhi, Michigan State House District 53

Christy McGillivray, Sierra Club Michigan Political and Legislative Director

James Clift, Deputy Director Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy

Peter Manning Deputy Attorney General and Division Chief for Environment, Natural Resources, and Agriculture

Related Priorities