Skip to main content

This afternoon, we testified on HB161, the Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority Sunset Act. This important bill sets up a review by the state Department of Legislative Services to consider whether or how this quasi-state agency, created by the state in 1980 to plan and finance trash incinerators, should continue. For more details, check out our FAQ, watch the hearing recording, read the sign-on testimony below, and click here to add your organization's name!

Send an email to your delegates in support of HB161 here!


Testimony Supporting HB0161

House Environment & Transportation Committee

February 8, 2023

Position: SUPPORT

Dear Chair Barve and Members of the Committee,

The undersigned organizations urge a favorable report on HB161, the Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority Sunset Act, sponsored by Delegates Korman and Szeliga. This legislation tasks the Department of Legislative Services with conducting an evaluation of the Northeast Maryland Waste Disposal Authority, a basic good-government step recommended for all such quasi-governmental agencies by the State Transparency and Accountability Review Commission in 2021. Since we do not want to see any new trash incinerators built in Maryland, and since other business conducted by the Waste Disposal Authority is duplicative of other quasi-governmental agencies, it makes sense for the state to evaluate this agency and carefully consider what are the right steps for its future. After the Department of Legislative Services conducts the evaluation requested in this bill, it will return a report to the legislature in December 2024, and any implementation steps will be for the legislature to consider in 2025 or later; this bill will simply give the legislature the necessary information and tools to make well-founded decisions. We urge you to support HB161 so that you will be equipped with this information in the future.


Clean Water Action, Emily Ranson, Maryland Director

Environmental Justice Ministry, Cedar Lane Unitarian Universalist Church, Nanci Wilkins, EJM team

Maryland Legislative Coalition, Cecilia Plante, Co-Chair

Chesapeake Earth Holders, David Steigerwald, Maryland Legislative Lead

Echotopia LLC, Diane Wittner, Principal

Montgomery Countryside Alliance, Caroline Taylor, Executive Director

Indivisible Howard County, Richard Deutschmann, Co-Facilitator Climate Action Team

Baltimore Phil Berrigan Memorial Chapter Veterans For Peace, Ellen E Barfield, VFP Chapter Co-founder and Coordinator

Unitarian Universalist Legislative Ministry of Maryland, Phil Webster, Lead Advocate, Climate Change

Common Cause Maryland, Casey Hunter, Outreach & Engagement Coordinator

HoCo Climate Action, Liz Feighner, Steering Committee

Elders Climate Action Maryland, Frances Stewart, Chapter Co-leader

Sustainable Hyattsville, Greg Smith, President, Board of Directors

Zero Waste Montgomery County, Susan Eisendrath, Volunteer

Regenerative Solutions, Daniela Ochoa Gonzalez, self-proprietor

Envision Frederick County, Karen Cannon, Executive Director

Chesapeake Physicians for Social Responsibility, Gwen L. DuBois, President

Sugarloaf Citizens' Association, Steven Findlay, President