Skip to main content
Thank You Clean Water Action Voters!

The votes have been counted and the races have been called, solidifying the future of Minnesota’s legislature for the next two years - and Clean Water Voters spoke out, loud and clear!

One of our most important responsibilities is to recommend candidates for office that our members and other Minnesotans who care about protecting clean water can support on Election Day. It isn't easy to earn our endorsement: candidates must have a strong record of fighting for environmental issues, ready to be a leader in office, and run a strong grassroots campaign. We look at where candidates stand on the key environmental issues that we work on in Minnesota – climate change, clean energy, reducing toxic chemicals, protecting our water, addressing agricultural pollution… just to name a few.

Once an endorsement is earned, our staff and volunteers - and in particular, our year round field and phone canvass team - work to get out the Clean Water Voter vote.

Out of our 56 endorsed candidates for the 2022 Minnesota midterm election, 82% won!

Thank you to all Clean Water Voters who made their voice heard at the ballot box! We look forward to hitting the ground running to make meaningful change for our Minnesota environment and communities in the 2023 legislative session - and working with our newly elected lawmakers to achieve real victories and a brighter future.

Congratulations to our 2022 Clean Water Voter Endorsed Election Winners!
United States Congress

Representative Angie Craig, Minnesota's 2nd Congressional District

Representative Dean Phillips, Minnesota's 3rd Congressional District

Representative Betty McCollum, Minnesota's 4th Congressional District

Minnesota Executive Branch

Governor Tim Walz
Lt. Governor Petty Flanagan

Attorney General Keith Ellison

Minnesota State Senate

Senator Jennifer McEwen, Minnesota Senate District 8

Senator Aric Putnam, Minnesota Senate District 14

Senator Nick Frentz, Minnesota Senate District 18

Senator Liz Boldon, Minnesota Senate District 25

Senator John Hoffman, Minnesota Senate District 34

Senator Mary Kunesh, Minnesota Senate District 39

Senator Judy Seeberger, Minnesota Senate District 41

Senator Ann Rest, Minnesota Senate District 43

Senator Kelly Morrison, Minnesota Senate District 45

Senator Steve Cwodzinski, Minnesota Senate District 49

Senator Melissa Halvorson Wiklund, Minnesota Senate District 51

Senator Jim Carlson, Minnesota Senate District 52     

Senator Lindsey Port, Minnesota Senate District 55

Senator Erin Maye-Quade, Minnesota Senate District 56 

Senator Kari Dziedzic, Minnesota Senate District 60 

Senator Scott Dibble, Minnesota Senate District 61

Senator Erin Murphy, Minnesota Senate District 64 

Senator Sandra Pappas, Minnesota Senate District 65 

Senator John Marty, Minnesota Senate District 40 

Minnesota State House

Representative Alicia Kozlowski, Minnesota House District 8B

Representative Jeff Brand, Minnesota House District 18A

Representative Tina Liebling, Minnesota House District 24B

Representative Kim Hicks, Minnesota House District 25A

Representative Matt Norris, Minnesota House District 32B

Representative Josiah Hill, Minnesota House District 33B

Representative Melissa Hortman, Minnesota House District 34B

Representative Jerry Newton, Minnesota House District 35B

Representative Jamie Becker-Finn, Minnesota House District 40B

Representative Mike Freiberg, Minnesota House District 43B

Representative Peter Fischer, Minnesota House District 44A

Representative Patty Acomb, Minnesota House District 45B:

Representative Larry Kraft, Minnesota House District 46A

Representative Ethan Cha, Minnesota House District 47B

Representative Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn, Minnesota House District 49B

Representative Rick Hansen, Minnesota House District 53B

Representative Robert Bierman, Minnesota House District 56A

Representative Frank Hornstein, Minnesota House District 61A

Representative Jamie Long, Minnesota House District 61B

Representative Samantha Sencer-Mura, Minnesota House District 63A

Representative Dave Pinto, Minnesota House District 64B

Representative Maria Isa Perez-Hedges, Minnesota House District 65B